#CLEANrestart – the begining

Hey loves!
So if you follow myself or my beautiful girlfriend Jess on Instagram or Twitter, you may have seen us use the hash tag #CLEANrestart . So here it is! People have been commenting wondering what this is all about! Well, Jess and I have been chatting about taking the next step in our #CHANGE movement and that was eating completely clean. She forwarded me information on a book and I immediately picked up a copy. The book is by Alejandro Junger, M.D. and is titled CLEAN: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself.

The Book:

I would highly recommend this book. It really touches on a bunch of points that I have always really believed and he put into perspective why it is so crucial to eat clean. (I am a huge nerd when it comes to books like this, so I am really enjoying it :P.) He talks about toxins, what they are, how they penetrate our system and what kind of effects they may have on the body. Also, it includes recipes for the programs I am about to mention. So far, I have liked every recipe!

What is it?

It’s a detox of sorts. The first phase is for the individual that eats processed foods on a daily basis and it is called the elimination diet. So the length of the phase depends on your current eating habits. Personally, I do not eat a lot of processed or packaged foods so I only did this for one day. So that also meant cutting out coffee. The first day of no coffee was brutal to be completely honest. I had terrible withdrawal symptoms. Migraine, nausea, hot and cold flashes. It was pretty extreme. But after the first day of pain, I felt PHENOMENAL the next day. There is also a list of foods to include and exclude from your diet for the time you are on the elimination diet.

As for the clean program, this lasts for about 3 weeks. I may do 4, haven’t really decided yet! Everyday you are allotted one solid meal and two liquid meals (soups, juices or shakes). You aim to have your solid meal in the middle of the day but if you have an event, you may switch things around. You try to aim for a 12 hour “fast” while you are sleeping. So if you had dinner at 6 pm, breakfast shouldn’t be until after 6 am the next morning. This program really makes you aware of your hunger signals. Whether or not it is true hunger or something else!

How I will document this journey?

I have been writing down things in a “food journal.” I have included what my meals have been, my daily goals, any differences I feel and how my day went. I have also weighed myself, taken body shots, taken measurements, and taken my body composition (body fat %).

I will reveal at the end of this program any changes I have found. I am really excited about this! and so far I am really loving it. I feel so awake and healthy inside and out!

WHY am I doing this?

I feel that I have been stuck in a rut. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t fallen off the wagon or been eating poorly. I just feel I needed something new to bring me to that next step. I have a belief that it isn’t always about how many points, calories or whatever, that you are eating..it’s WHAT you are eating. Eating totally clean is what I have wanted to do for some time. I was pretty close for the most part, but felt this was a good way to “restart” my system, detoxify my body, and truly get in to it!

I am not doing this for some crazy weight loss or anything of that sort. I just want to really clean out my body and restart it. I know the differences my body experiences when I eat well and eat CLEAN. My skin is clear, my spirits are high, my mood is stable and I sleep like a rock! I have noticed over the past while that these things have not been in place and I just want to gain control of those again. However, I did take body shots, measured, weighed myself and BF% just to see the changes physically my body will go through.

What my goals are for this month?

– Really become self aware of my body and the signals it is showing me

– Keep positive and in high spirits

– Keep focused

Ready, Set, #CLEANrestart !! lets do this!!

2 thoughts on “#CLEANrestart – the begining

Leave a Reply

