Cinnamon Bun Chocolate Casein Pudding

Howdy folks!

So the last few weeks I have been doing a bit of research on a supplement I have been seeing all over my Instagram feed and that is Casein Protein. I have heard of it before but did not really know too much of what it entailed. I read up on it and learnt it was a slow digesting protein. It seems many people usually have this before bed. This made me thing “huh, this could be good to keep the ‘night eating’ frenzies at bay.”It is also a great source of Amino Acids! (woot!)

As I looked more into it, I read that it was derived from dairy. Great. I am lactose-intolerant so I got a little nervous, but still wanted to give it a try. If you have a food intolerance you know reactions are NO FUN and you certainly wouldn’t want to voluntarily put yourself through one. So I did stay away from Casein until now. I saw Wal-mart was selling a brand called “Six Star Nutrition” which was somewhat affordable. I figured if I was going to try this out, I don’t want to spend an arm and a leg on something I will use once because I am intolerant to it. So I took the dive.

I have been seeing recipes using casein to make pudding, ice cream, and much more. All in all it looked freakin’ delicious! So I decided break my casein protein virginity with a pudding-cookie dough type recipe. This is what it looks like:

IMG_4157

I know right? Even a friend of mine that is so not into this kind of stuff went “Woah, that actually looks delicious!” So you can see why I researched into casein and wanted it so bad!

Whats in this bowl:

-1 scoop chocolate casein
-1 tbsp Almond Butter
-1/2 cup of Almond milk
IMG_4159

On top:
-1/2 bakd cinnamon bun flavored bar (Microwaved for 20 sec and broken up over top)

IMG_4158

Now, you may be thinking “Jenn, I do not have Casein..maybe I will just use the whey protein powder I have.” Casein is much more thicker and creamier, so it may not turn out as pudding like, it may be more watery. I definitely could see a difference in taste and texture when it came to casein vs whey, also casein kept me fuller MUCH longer than any whey protein would.

So usually if product have a large about of lactose in them, I will have a reaction within an hour or so, sometimes less. But guess what, I had no stomach pains! I felt just fine! I know some Casein proteins are lactose free, and it seems this one may be (though I did not find a label saying “lactose-free” or anything of that sort). It was a nice treat to have post workout, or post dinner if I want a sweet treat. I will definitely be

Leave a Reply

