Merry Mucus: Sick during the holidays? Stay on plan!

tissue_boxThat’s it. I accept defeat. I am sniffling, snotting and hacking everywhere right before the holidays. Usually I am sick post-marathon but that was not the case for the last two. So I threw in the towel and I am accepting this for what it is, mucus and all. I am already surrounded by delicious comfort foods like chicken pot pie and amazing sweets like shortbread and my FAVORITE, nanaimo bars. But you know me, I have found a way to stick to my goals! Here are my tips:

Rule of thumb

I read this once that if your symptoms are only from the neck up, low intensity workouts are totally okay. But if you have any symptoms below the neck (eg: lungs, stomachs etc) take a rest. I totally agree! If you feel that the cold is going on longer than it should, go to a doctor. As a runner, my lungs are key  to keeping me healthy and running. I take congestion very seriously and especially infections. If you feel that you have been wheezing and coughing far too long get it looked at!

 Drink those fluids!

I have a water bottle and cup of tea within feet of me at almost all parts of the day. I believe that water is a miracle worker when it comes to anything; losing weight, headaches, coughs, and feeling poorly all around. Drink up! If you have trouble with plain water add something to it. Some of my favorites? Mint leaves, cucumber, celery, slices of lime, lemon or oranges. I drink my tea completely plain but sometimes I add in some stevia if I feel a sweet tooth coming on. I try and stay away from cream (because that would kill my tummy), milk, honey or anything that could add extra calories because I rather eat my calories than drink them. But that is for you to decide, just personal preference!

Listen to your body

Right now, I feel my body needs its rest. When a cold progresses into my chest I then know not to workout. As much as I want to, I won’t be able to breathe so its a no go. Today is day 3 of rest and I am VERY antsy. So instead I am chopping up veggies, making my own healthy soups and writing out meal plans for the next few days. I find chest colds are next to impossible to deal with if you want to workout. I can still workout if I have more of a sinus issue, but I do take it down a notch. You need to assess the situation yourself and figure out what is best for you. There is no harm in letting your body do its thing and kick this colds butt!

 Take care of yourself

Sounds a bit obvious, but I take it to a new level. I let myself have the time to take a long hot bubble bath, throw in a hair masque, a face masque, read and sip on a cup of tea. Then I get into some cozy PJ’s, moisturize, give myself a pedicure and manicure and cuddle up with more tea and my favorite TV show or movie. Oh how girlie of me! It is GOOD to take some time to pamper yourself, especially when your body is PLEADING for rest like this!

 You may not be able to workout, but you can eat clean!

Yes, I will admit. There are times where I rely on my workouts to eat a little more. So now that this isn’t an option, I aim to stick to my 1600 calories a day and eat clean whole foods. I made soup from scratch this afternoon and it was DELIGHTFUL. I also have been loving my oatmeal again. Being sick is not an excuse to order fast food and feel sorry for yourself. Okay, you can feel sorry for yourself..but don’t damage that progress you have made in the last few weeks! Eat clean. Your body WANTS those nutrients for ammo against the sicky-poo germs in your immune system!

 Take those vitamins!

Confession time. I can be so bad at this! I often forget. So I bought a pill box (yes, I know this just adds to my reputation of being a 22 year old granny) to keep in a place that will remind me to take my vitamins! Also, no need to overload on vitamin C. This is super common. Your body can only take in so much vitamin C, so the rest of the left over vitamin C will be excreted through urine. Just take enough for your recommended allowance! For men its about 90 mg daily and women its 75 mg daily. The RDA (recommended daily allowance) changes if you are a smoker, pregnant or you are breast feeding. Don’t go cray cray!

 Don’t overload on cough drops/candies

I have a bad habit of eating FAR too many cough candies because I can’t stand my throat hurting. Its extra sugar and it all adds up. Again to add to my 22 year old granny reputation I have made for myself, I went crazy on Werther’s hard candies the other day because there were no halls in the house. Want to know the calories on those bad boys? 60 calories for 3. Do you think I had 3? Nope. I don’t know how many I had but it certainly wasn’t 3. Today I have just allowed myself tea to soothe my sore throat. Oi!

So all in all, eat clean, rest and hydrate. Christmas is close around the corner and I am allowing myself a glass of wine and a dessert. So the next few days I will be eating clean no matter how sick and sorry I am feeling for myself. In past years I have put on almost 8 lbs during the holiday season! (probably not 100% true weight but still!)  It is SO not happening this time around. In fact, I am pretty sure I have shed pounds in the last few weeks!

Hope you are all having a lovely holiday season and that the sick bug didn’t get you too! ❤

Leave a Reply

