Missing something I love…marathon running!

marathon

This? Yeah I missed this a lot this year. If you watch my videos you will remember me saying this but “I live for race day.” The ridiculous amount of  anti-chafe stick, lacing up my racing flats, the fuel belt/racing bib struggle (okay maybe not this), the “I think I have to pee” right before the race gun goes off (okay maybe not this either..). Oh I know! The pounding in my chest, the butterflies and the big goofy smile on my face as I cross the start line. I miss it so much! This year I decided to put the full marathon on hold since I had run 7 fulls in the span of 2 years. No doubt it can be hard on a persons body. But the thrill the full gives me is something I can’t explain to people who don’t enjoy running as much. I thought the break would be good, and then I could focus on the shorter faster distances. I instructed the 10 km clinic at the start of the year and boy that was a challenge. I excel with the full and half distances, but especially the full distance. I know how my body preforms best on these distances when it comes to fueling, pacing, negative splits (I run my marathons with a negative split at goal since my body works best that way), and keeping my head/ego in check.

Then another goal came on the radar, completing in bikini or figure, and my coach made me stop what I loved most. The only taste of running I got was interval sprints on a treadmill. If you know me, or run with me, you know I HATE SPEED WORK. So this was like speed work every few days or so. Gross. I have decided to “call it quits” on the competing goal due to a sour experience with a “coach” and realizing that mentally it wouldn’t be something I would want to necessarily experience. I am pretty sure it would spiral me back into a place I don’t want to be.

Running on the other hand puts me in a place I need to be. Conquering something you genuinely HATED for most of your adolescent years and finding out you actually love it is pretty powerful…well maybe not all things. I used to hate brussel sprouts and look at me now! I wouldn’t call that powerful.. more like delicious.. ;).

As I mentioned in my latest vlog, I believe in the power of thought. If you think something will happen hard enough, it will. After cancelling my goal of competing I realized I needed running again. Since I was on such low fat and low carb, my body rebounded causing me to gain 15-20 lbs. I made a silly excuse a reality for majority of my running years saying “I run best at ____lbs and I have less aches and pains” so I was very hesitant to get back into the groove. So when I started running again all I thought was how my back, hips and knees would ache after. You know what? they did. Yet on the runs that I ran with not a care in the world, just enjoying the scenery, fresh ocean air and wildlife, I came through my apartment doors energized, happy, and mentally calm. No aches. No pains. I truly believe this is because I shifted my thought processes.

I’ve decided to move on from weighing myself for a while again. I am in an amazing place with my balance of life, food and exercise and I feel confident with what I am doing. So that saying I made as a reality when it was really just an excuse? yeah throwing that out the window. I was running when I was at my heaviest weight, so this excuse isn’t valid and will not make me stop working towards what I want.

I have been on the fence with what I was going to do come January. I knew I wanted to get back into training for a half or full marathon. I love the routine of it. Long slow distance on Sundays. Drills on Tuesdays. Two other EZ pace runs in the week. Sprinkled with some cross training. Repeat. Oh baby, yes please! So I have been making a pros and cons list for each distance. Silly, but this is how I make hard decisions (if this is my hard decision in a while, I will be golden ha!). Sure the full marathon takes more energy, more commitment, more strictness on my part, and can be a bit more costly (registration, shoes, fuel etc), but I love it. I LOVE the rush of the full marathon and you know what? I am going to do it. I am training for my EIGHTH full marathon. Holy craziness!

BMO Vancouver full marathon in May is the race I am most likely registering for. I have yet to do the course since it has been changed and I am excited for it! I am not going to be too butt hurt if I don’t PB (personal best) this race, but I will still do my best to do so. I am aiming to get my LSD (long slow distance) run pace to a 5:45/km, which is just a touch faster than what I ran last year during training. I also plan on getting more strict with my drill night. Like I said I HATE SPEED WORK, but I’ll suck it up and do it. I may try to run 2 fulls this year, we will see. But at this point I am for sure running the full in May. Heck, it will keep me occupied and focused while my husband is deployed too. Win win.

Know what else doesn’t help the marathon bug? Watch Spirit of the Marathon . Seriously. I watch this before EVERY full marathon as a pump up and it is my biggest motivation.

I am BACK baby! Time to repair or buy a new fuel belt! Mine looks like a MESS! ha!

6 thoughts on “Missing something I love…marathon running!

  1. You go girl! I am so excited for you and know you will rock this! Whether you tell yourself you can or your can’t, you will be right 🙂 You can do this and I am so excited to follow you on your marathon journey. Hugs to you!

  2. This is such a great post Jenn.

    There are so many things to say about the racing experience and I know books have been written. The one thing that has stuck with me and was one of those profound moments of my entire life was the gathering of the huge crowd right before the start of the marathon. There’s an electricity in the air with all these fit people gathered for this single purpose, something they’ve trained for for months or maybe years, and it’s all coming together for all of them at this one special moment. There’s a quiet time before the starting gun, there’s a little anxiety maybe and there is excitement. And you feel a part of something larger, kind of like this huge family around you. Do you know what I mean? I’ve never felt anything like it before or since, and so I hope to do (at least) another one.

    • YES! totally know what you mean. There is something about that start line that is VERY magical and I wish EVERYONE could experience it at least once in their lifetime. Speaking to non-runners about it makes me look so crazy but those who understand, just brings back that amazing buzz in my heart and belly. Even the feelings I get seeing each timing mat and especially the finish line.
      The training itself is a journey that I wish people could experience. Nothing makes me more proud than strapping on my fuel belt and lacing my runners up and getting out the door, knowing I will be out there for 3 hours. Seems weird but I love the feeling of being just me and the world. I love the weird bond that I feel when I see a fellow runner early on a Sunday morning. There is nothing like it.
      As hard as it is for me to accept I had to take a year off because of the mess up with that coach.. I am happy I did because it lit the fire in my heart again. Running has taught me SO much about my physical and mental limits. It has brought me an amazing sense of spirituality too. I am beyond excited for January. ❤

  3. I’ve been following (ok maybe a little IG stalking) your journey over the past year or so. I was intrigue when I saw you were going to work with The new coach and was curious how his would impact your marathon running.

    As a heavier runner / triathlete it’s an niter sting juxtaposition between the two different worlds and I was curious if you would be able to do both. I was also secretly curious how all of hese folks were achieving such dramatic results.

    Thanks for pulling back the curtain and shining some light on what was really goin on. I can’t wait to hear more about you getting back into running!

    • Hah I was first intrigued to compete after writing my final undergrad research on female competitors and the body shaming some tend to experience from society.. then I thought HEY Ill compete! REALLY wish I did my research better than I did when looking for a coach. But hey, you live and you learn right? I was heart broken when the coach told me I couldn’t run more than 4 miles!

      I am still lifting weights. I do believe that cross training is crucial for improving my running and preventing injury. I am just eating more foods, drinking only 1 gallon of water rather than 2 a day, and cutting out all that artificial 0 calorie crap that I would use in order to get my water in. I rather be doing what I love most and eating clean foods that make me happy! Tilapia and asparagus every day? gross. 😛 I truly missed cooking and being creative in the kitchen, so I’m so happy to be back at it!

      Also, I feel that that lifestyle brings some people to get overly obsessive. Personally I struggled with B.E.D (binge eating disorder) and still have a lot of psychological stuff to get over from it, so it brought me to the obsessiveness of the lifestyle. (AKA. I didn’t think I was completely on plan if I couldn’t drink 2 gallons in that day…uh what?) Also the plan she had me on made me have an unhealthy relationship with food and exercise again and I relapsed with my disordered eating. So yeah, no thanks.

      Very happy…VERY HAPPY to be back into running. I am fully registered for marathon number 8 in May!! I cannot wait. Thank you so much for the support! Truly means a lot!

Leave a Reply

