Coconut Granola Recipe

The days are dwindling down! Eep! Yesterday I went to try out yet another new class. I have used this type of fitness before, but I have never gone to a class. TRX! I went to Yoga Public with my cousin in law and her friend from soccer and it was such a blast! I am definitely sore! oh.. and don’t even get me STARTED on how amazing the facility is! I told Matt if we lived here I would either try to instruct there or at least be a member there. PHENOMENAL!

We stopped by my sisters in law’s place for a cozy cup of green tea and good conversations. Then picked up Gillian (one of my sister in laws) and headed to the house.

I was talking with my mother in law the other afternoon about how I love to make granola every so often. Mainly because I rather make my own kind of cereal than by it from a grocery store. I love being able to customize it and another bonus? It makes the house smell of oatmeal cookies. MMMM! So I decided to whip up coconut granola! Here is the recipe I made up:

IMG_2615

Coconut Granola

3 cups oats
1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped raw almonds
1/4 cup chopped raw cashews
1/4 cup whole raw cashews
2 cup shredded coconut
3 tbsp brown sugar
1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)
1 tsp coconut extract

preheat oven at 300 F

  • mix oats, cinnamon, brown sugar, salt together and put aside

  • mix honey and coconut oil in separate bowl

  • Combine wet and dry ingredients

  • Bake flat on cookie sheet for 20 minutes. Be sure to mix mixture around half way through baking.

  • While baking, chop nuts if necessary

  • Let cool and mix every so often

  • Once cooled, mix shredded coconut and other nuts into the mixture. Stir until fully mixed in.

You can alter this with what ever nuts you have or you can add dried fruit to it as well.

I love making granola since it is SO versatile. You really can add any kind of nut, seed, fruit, spice, sweetener (honey/agave/brown sugar etc).

Yum.

QQOTD: Have you tried a new fitness class out lately? What was it and how did you like it?

Leave a Reply

