Turkey Pumpkin Chili- JennIsTryingToCleanOutHerFridge Edition!!

I know Tuesdays are usually “transformation Tuesday” in Instagram world, but I don’t share my transformation every week. To be honest, I find it can be overkill and hey! if people want to see the before in after, it has been my profile picture on my Facebook like page anyway! So what beautiful alliteration can we make for yesterday. Titillating Tuesday? I just feel weird typing that. Perhaps now. How about…too many hills Tuesday because THAT describes my Tuesday pretty well!

Started with the P90X3 warrior workout. Always a goodie but it does include a lot of lower body plyometric movements. Hello quads, glutes and hammies! I was worried I wouldn’t be exhausted before doing my drill run. Thank you Tony Horton for making that possible. #sarcasm. Promise.

IMG_3200Topped with a chocolate vegan Shakeology. SO good. I am too hooked on this mixed with almond milk, half a banana and a big tbsp of peanut butter. Yum!

Got a bunch of work done so that I could get my run on at lunch time! Hill drills, yippeee! Ran 5 hill repeats. Two repeats of Gonzales hill (this one I am FINALLY able to run all the way to the top of! Such a killer!), one repeat of St. Charles, one repeat of Robleda and one repeat of Moss st. I was EXHAUSTED by the end. Drills always take a lot out of me.

IMG_3209I had so much to do my on my daily “to do” list, so it was back to work for me. Have a few people I am writing fitness programs for, so I spent the afternoon working on those while I made…..

IMG_3211TURKEY PUMPKIN CHILI -Jenn is trying to clean out her fridge edition

Last time I made this, I used a recipe from Whole Foods online. This time I just put things in there that I wanted to use up. So the measurements and ingredients may be a bit interesting. But hey! it was delicious so I am not going to question why I only put in 2 strips of bacon!

Ingredients:
1 can pumpkin
2 big handfuls of baby tomatoes, blended in my vitamix. Probably could use a can of chopped tomatoes though!
5 stalks of celery, chopped
1 white onion, chopped
1 sweet red pepper, chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
3 cups of fresh baby spinach
1 packed of ground turkey, cooked
2 slices of bacon
1 heaping tbsp chopped garlic
coconut oil (for oiling your pans)
1 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

 

 

Directions:

 

  1.  Cook ground turkey completely through on an coconut oiled pan. In a stew pot, cook celery, onion, garlic, peppers, in melted coconut oil until onions are translucent. Add spinach to wilt over top.
  2. On med/low heat, add cooked turkey into vegetable mixture.
  3. Add canned tomato and pumpkin. Mix
  4. Add spices and mix.
  5. Let simmer over low heat until you feel it is ready!
  6. nom nom nom!

 

I also made a bunch of quinoa in chicken broth so I poured some of the chili over a little bit of quinoa. PERFECT. So good!

Chili is so easy and perfect in my mind. I rarely add beans to mine, but it is good with beans! I tried it the first time I made it.

Have a wonderful day ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

