A day at the Victoria Health show

Sunday Runday! I woke up slightly later than intended due to my later night the night before. Which is totally fine. I was a sleepy runner this morning! It was mighty foggy for the first part of the morning and something about fog creeps me out. Luckily my twitter buddy James Koole reminded me what the fog monsters really are:

IMG_3301

After a good laugh and a yummy breakfast, I hit the road. This run was much better than last week. I finally have broken in my Mizuno Waverider 17s. Thank goodness! I was starting to think I didn’t like them because my left foot would get a blister on one toe, and 3 of my toes would be numb. Not cool. But after 75 km on them, they seem to have stretched to my foot a bit better.

Little to no soreness on this run. Last week my hip flexors and IT bands were TIGHT. Wow. I was limping around for a few hours after my run, but I think my body is coming around. I have been very on it with my flexibility work and relaxing properly. My body is getting used to my running schedule again…whooo!

IMG_3307After my foggy run, the fog lifted. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. It is days like this, where the blue sky takes over, that makes me fall in love with Victoria all over again.

I had an appointment with one of my coaching teammates, Dana (go check her out! she is awesome. She has a youtube too!) . We always have great talks! Love that girl!

Then my good friend Gabe (also a super awesome individual. Seriously. Check them both out!) and I went off to the Victoria Health show. We went last year and it was great!

IMG_3311Ignore the horrible shadowy photo. We planned on taking more photos outside after the fair..did we? nope! Instead we hit up Winners and Old Navy. Priorities!

Back at the show, I picked up my all time favourite thing. I always buy Kombucha when I go to Whole Foods in Vancouver or the Market here. I LOVE Kombucha and this company is really was awesome. It is Canadian based and the flavours were great!

IMG_3312

Of course  the show had a couple really gimmicky things. As per usual with health shows am I right? To be honest, it scares me to see that people will be so interested in the quick fix to weight loss problems. I will be blunt here, wrapping your body in wraps is not going to help you long term. Sorry but the results are from you most likely sweating it up in some cellophane and therefore losing water weight. Easily gained again in less than a day.  I am not one for bashing peoples choices when it comes to health and fitness, but this isn’t health or fitness. This is literally getting tangled in your kitchen cellophane while you are wrapping up left overs and calling it a weight loss plan. Don’t get me started on the various weight loss pills or formulas. You want to find a way to get yourself really sick? try taking some off the shelf “weight loss magic pill.” Seriously. I don’t care if your Aunt Pauline and friend Sally are doing it. It is a quick way to hurt not only your metabolism, but your health.

Anywho, back in your cage ranty Jenn. *scurries*

We were there mainly to see the man of the hour. Gabe and I both love Tommy Europe. I had a chance to workout with him at my Can-Fit-Pro Certification conference back in November in Vancouver. It was amazing! I used to be addicted to his TV shows “Bulging Brides” and “Last 10 lbs Bootcamp.” He really tells it to you straight, makes you think and be true to yourself, and gives you some great tools. He NEVER lets you get away with excuses which I love. This man is one of the reasons I am very proud to be in the health and fitness industry. There are a lot of people and products out there that are horrible examples of the health and fitness industry, but Tommy? nope. He is a prime example. He is professional, encouraging, positive, understanding of struggles but helps you overcome them, he is knowledgeable. I could go on. He also matches his shoe laces with his shirts which is a big score in my books. Serious. I’ve done it too!

IMG_3317

As I mentioned, we hit up Old Navy and Winners after the health show. We picked up flavored coffee because we both have a problem. It is just too delish. I went with salted caramel (YUM!), pumpkin spice, and toasted maple nut (yeah, eh?). Then I went a little crazy with comfy clothes and workout clothes (cuz I SO need more of those ..not) from Old Navy.

After an AWESOME girls day, I got into my sweats made up a yummy meal since I was ravenous. Then what? uh watched Sean and Catherine’s wedding. Yeah, I don’t watch the Grammy’s. I hate award shows. They bore me!

IMG_3321

I gotta say, I got so much second hand embarrassment watching this. There was so much CHEESE it was ridiculous. Really happy Matt and I didn’t compare our love to butterflies or sprinkles at any point. I mean I can make one up if you want?
Matt.. my love for you is like my love for a big party platter of sushi after running a marathon. No? Doesn’t work? works for me! (If you don’t know the story or the reference. After my last marathon in 2012, Matt proposed to me. We also ordered a TON of sushi to pick up later that afternoon. When we went to pick it up, they packed it in a party platter and said “big party tonight?” and I just pointed to my tummy and said “BIG PARTY FOR ME TONIGHT.” Best post marathon meal ever…)

QQOTD: Did you watch Sean and Catherine’s wedding or the Grammy’s?

Leave a Reply

