What I am doing for Lent

So my brother slept pretty well. We basically just have our memory foam topper as a make shift bed when people stay over. We slept in and made a yummy breakfast. I made poached eggs and broiled some cheese on Ezekiel toast. I had strawberries with mine, but he isn’t a big fruit guy so he had two egg/toast dealios.

IMG_4236Since our plans changed that evening, we debated on what to do with the day. It was very rainy and we weren’t excited about the movies that were out. We went for a bit of a walk around town and picked up a few veggies at the market.

I went to church in the evening as I usually do. Josh wanted to run before dinner and it was absolutely POURING at this point. But he ran anyway! I put my hair up and put on my rain boots to get to the Cathedral.

IMG_4240I needed my time with God this week. I can’t say a lot of why things have been the way they have this past week, but I haven’t had this kind of anxiety in a while. It has been tough since a lot of my friends have been very busy which is kinda hard when I have been going through a bit of a dark time and I feel I need them most. Luckily I will be seeing my girlfriends Gabe and Emily this coming week. I really need that. Hello girls night over bachelor, and another girls night at a raw vegan place!

Since it it the first week of Lent, I thought on what I should give up or do for 40 days. Growing up I always gave up the normal things. You know.. Candy. Chocolate. Food items. This time, I am giving up self deprivation. I am going to do my best to be body positive and happy about who I am. Even when times are tough like this, I know I am a hard working individual doing something she absolutely loves. Yet sometimes I can be negative and second guess my abilities as a person (career wise, personality wise.. everything!). But these 40 days? I am committing to loving what God has given me and blessed me with.

I got home and we ordered some pizza. I told Josh about Hot House Pizza because I used to love it when I was at university. I used to have a slice from time to time. Josh went with pepperoni and I, for once, went with Hawaiian.
IMG_4241I want to say thank you for those on social media that have been so supportive of me during this time. I always feel like I am whining when I talk about the moods, emotions or struggles I go through. But I realize I can’t keep this from documenting my life on my blog or Youtube. I am sure in some way, people can relate to what I go through and feel a little less alone in some way. We are all human. We all feel sad. We all feel nervous. We all feel weak at times. I want to be real with you. I don’t want to be overly positive to the point where it just seems fake. So here I am, take it or leave it :).

Thank you all so much again. I really cannot be more grateful for each and every one of you <3. Love you!

2 thoughts on “What I am doing for Lent

  1. Jenn! I am all caught up on this week’s posts, and let me say it was a weird week for nearly everyone I know! Yes, I consider you someone I know! 😉 It sounds like you are doing everything the right way, working through the tough times, and I love, love, LOVE your idea of giving up self-deprivation for Lent. I was going to give up cheese. It didn’t last 24 hours. Ha! P.S. You are killing it on the marathon training!!

    • Ah! really? I find that so interesting when it happens and everyone has a weird/off week! At least I am not alone haha! Thank you so much. Doing my best to work through it all. Makes it tough since I am not suppose to say anything about WHAT is going on until it is over in the next month or so.
      Thank you so much! I have been loving marathon training.. even if I have the odd harsh run like this sundays run haha! And thank you again! I really wanted to do something that will benefit me a lot. When I am conscious of my negative self talk.. I am a lot more confident and happy!
      Hope you had a lovely weekend girl!!

Leave a Reply

