21 Day Fix – Day ONE

I have been waiting for this program to be in my hands since the start of FEBRUARY. I was SO happy to have it once I got back from California!

So what does the fix really entail?

If it can fit in the container you can eat it. To a certain extent…you can’t shove m&m’s in the big container and be like “Well, this is what the plan is!” Each container is a certain size and colour. These containers coordinate with a type of food group. Proteins, starchier foods, fruits, veggies, etc. To figure out how much of each of these containers your body requires, you just have to calculate your caloric needs, found in the manual that comes with the program. This will change depending on your fitness goals. If you are doing the workouts that came with the 21 day fix, then it will show you how to calculate for that. If you are doing it with another program, it will show you how to calculate accordingly. It does not, however, tell you how to calculate for marathon training. So I am personally experimenting this week with a bracket. If I feel my body requires more, I will use the next bracket up!

The workouts are 30 minutes a day with lots of variety. Yoga, Pilates, weight lifting, cardio! You only really need a pair of light and medium to heavy dumbbells, a yoga mat and your body!

Why 21 days? Studies have shown, it takes 21 days to change a habit.

Personally, I suggest meal planning ahead of time so you don’t find yourself stuck at the end of the day with a ton of reds and greens to eat. You want to make these meals enjoyable too! Not just salad and chicken all day, everyday! This is a revolutionary program! You eat LOTS, you can indulge and still lose weight.

What about AFTER the 21 days?

The nutrition portion of this program can be continued along side anything you are doing. Insanity, P90X, training for a half marathon, ANYTHING. All that is needed is a change in your caloric bracket.

Also, the manual shows you how to calculate your needs for maintenance as well!

My personal needs with regard to the 21 day fix and marathon training:

2025 calories puts me in the 1800-2099 calorie bracket

5 green containers

5 red containers

3 purple containers

4 yellow containers

1 blue container

1 orange container

5 tsps

Like I said above. I am experimenting with this bracket for the time being. I am running 22 miles on Sunday so we will see how this fuels me. I do think this should be enough, but if I feel the need to go up, I will keep you all in the loop!

 

Day One:

Started the morning with my 2 shot americano, some water and then went out for a run with my newly repaired Garmin.

IMG_4886

Once I got back, I made up my vegan chocolate Shakeology. On the fix, dairy alternatives can be subsituted for a Yellow container 3 times a week. So this will be an adjustment! We will make it work!

So I had vegan chocolate Shakeology, 2 tsp of PB, Apple, Flax seed, Almond milk (unsweetened).

After consuming my Shakeology, I actually read that unsweetened almond milk can be substituted for a yellow.. but the serving size is actually more than a yellow container (hope that makes sense). Oh well!

IMG_4888I then got into my Total Body Cardio Fix workout. It was 30 minutes of total body..cardio. Guess you got that from the title right? I KNEW I would be sore after (I am! abs and quads OH MY!)

Then it was time for my next meal! Apple, tsp olive oil to drizzle over, 2 hard boiled eggs, and 12 almonds.

IMG_4892Then for Lunch I had: Brown rice pasta, beef tomato sauce, broccoli and green beans, and two more hard boiled eggs.

IMG_4896My next snack was: oatmeal, Mashed banana, 2 tsp of peanut butter all mixed together!

IMG_4897Then my dinner was: Salmon, quinoa, red pepper, broccoli and green beans.

IMG_4899

I felt VERY satisfied. It was a lot of food, but I felt fueled and just FRESH! Eat fresh, feel fresh! I find it hard to get in 5 proteins and 5 greens, but it will benefit me in the end I am sure!

Now onto DAY TWO!

2 thoughts on “21 Day Fix – Day ONE

  1. Omg this container thing is BRILLIANT. I would be interested in getting more details and floating this idea by my next bootcamp! Hmmm….
    Love the freedom and easy portion control of it.

Leave a Reply

