Bremerton, WA- Day four of the road trip

Started the morning with another 30 minute workout. It was pretty overcast and a bit foggy in Seaside, but no excuse not to get my groove on. Decided to jog to the water, do TONS of pump lunges and regular walking lunges, a couple sprints and some tabatas. For fun I will include some of the tabata work.

If you are not sure what a tabata is, it is 8 rounds of 20 seconds WORKING and 10 seconds REST. A true tabata is NOT what I am doing. This is a bit of a spin on a genuine tabata since real tabata generally is the same type of exercise each round. Tabatas were originally a cycling centred training.

TABATA 1:

ROUND ONE:  incline pushups off a bench
ROUND TWO: one legged squats (modified by using one leg to sit and stand up off a bench)
ROUND THREE: calf raises (both legs)
ROUND FOUR: right leg calf raises
ROUND FIVE: left leg calf raises
ROUND SIX: burpees with a tuck jump
ROUND SEVEN: tricep dips off bench
ROUND EIGHT: high knees

TABATA 2:

ROUND ONE:  “touch downs” (for lack of better word…Standing on bench, single leg squat and with the other leg tap the floor then back up to the bench)
ROUND TWO: other leg
ROUND THREE: front, back, side lunge RIGHT SIDE
ROUND FOUR: front, back, side lunge LEFT SIDE
ROUND FIVE: tuck jumps
ROUND SIX: plank side taps (in a high plank, tapping feet from side to side)
ROUND SEVEN: regular squats
ROUND EIGHT: box jump onto the bench

After getting back, I decided to commit to making healthier choices. I have been indulging each day, and I didn’t plan on being 100% on. But I wanted to do my best to make some better choices than I have been. Since Sunday I get my Piyo certification, I didn’t want to have any tummy aches and pains. So I wrote out a list for the fix to keep me on it.

IMG_2031

I wasn’t 100%, but I did do decent. I have noticed I haven’t been eating enough veggies so I had lots of peppers while we were on our drive. We drove for 4 hours or so.

IMG_2033

It was absolutely beautiful the entire drive. I noticed there is a lot of military around where we are staying. Some cool old decommissioned war vessels and other things in the ship yards.

IMG_2036

We arrived safe and sound. We walked about and found ourselves a movie theatre. So after dinner we went to see “A Million Ways to Die in the West.” Pretty funny! I enjoyed it a lot.

I know I haven’t included any food photos. Mainly, I am running short on time and my photos are on my iphone. But I will say I did indulge. Like I said, not 100% on it. I had mac and cheese with bacon and pulled pork in it. It was divine. The end.

Leave a Reply

